The Presidential Years

Mandela was convinced that the Cabinet that had been formed through negotiations and consultations was both strong and representative of the people of South Africa – suggestions that it was not representative provoked him.

Soon after the formation of the Government of National Unity, and long before Deputy President De Klerk voluntarily pulled out of the Government of National Unity, the ANC was repeatedly accused of racism, and of promoting the interests of Africans only, and of neglecting those of the minorities. There are still public figures in our country, diehards who are still peddling this ignoble propaganda.

I have deliberately set out in full the names of members of the Cabinet of the Government of National Unity. Those who have respect for truth and for themselves, irrespective of their background, will refrain from tarnishing their own image by endorsing what is clearly a senseless propaganda by those who have no credible alternative policy to that of the ANC.

The subterfuge becomes all the more glaring when you discover that, apart from Derek Keys and A Williams, the latter a member of the Coloured community, the remaining five Cabinet members of Mr De Klerk's National Party were all White and Afrikaner. There was no African nor Indian. Yet all these national groups formed part of the ANC members of the Cabinet. Out of nineteen, there were seven members of the minorities.

The domination of Whites in the National Assembly in 1994 was equally striking. Out of two hundred and fifty six ANC members of the National Assembly, eighty-two represented Coloureds, Indians and Whites.

Out of eighty members of the National Party, there were eleven Africans, nine Coloureds, four Indians, a total of twenty-four as against fifty-six Whites, more than double the number of other groups.

In the June 1999 elections, the number of blacks – Africans, Coloureds and Indians in the Democratic Party increased but the leaders were still whites, Tony Leon and Marthinus van Schalkwyk.138

Appendix: The Cabinet – Portfolios and names139


1. D Keys - Minister of Finance

Inkatha Freedom Party

  1. M G Buthelezi Minister of home Affairs
  2. F F Mzimela Minister of Correctional Services
  3. B S Ngubane Minister of arts, Culture, Science and Technology

National Party

  1. F W de Klerk Second Executive Deputy President
  2. B J de Villiers Minister of Environment and Fisheries
  3. R F Meyer Minister of Local Government and Constitutional Affairs
  4. A Williams Minister of Social Welfare
  5. A J van Niekerk Minister of Agriculture
  6. R F Botha Minister of Minerals and Energy

African National Congress

  1. T M Mbeki First Executive Deputy President
  2. J Naidoo Minister without Portfolio
  3. T A Manuel Minister of Trade and Industry
  4. J Modise Minister of Defence
  5. J Slovo Minister of Housing
  6. K Asmal Minister of Water Affairs
  7. Z S T Skweyiya Minister of Administration and Public Service
  8. J T Radebe Minister of Public Works
  9. A M Omar Minister of Justice
  10. S R Maharaj Minister of Education
  11. L P Jordan Minister of Post and Telecommunications
  12. S Sigcau Minister of Public Enterprises
  13. S W Tshwete Minister of Sport and Recreation
  14. S R Maharaj Minister of Transport
  15. N C Dlamini-Zuma Minister of Health
  16. A B Nzo Minister of Foreign Affairs
  17. D M Hanekom Minister of Lands
  18. S F Mufamadi Minister of Safety and Security
  19. T T Mboweni Minister of Labour