The Presidential Years

Prime minister of South Africa, 1958 to 1966. Minister of native affairs, 1950 to 1958. National Party politician. Widely considered the architect of apartheid, he advocated a system of ‘separate development’. Under his leadership South Africa became a republic on 31 May 1961. Assassinated in Parliament by Dimitri Tsafendas.