The Presidential Years

Politician and MP. Succeeded De Klerk as leader of the National Party, renamed the New National Party (NNP) when it withdrew from the GNU. He joined the ANC in 2005 when the partnership with the Democratic Party in the form of the Democratic Alliance turned sour, and served minster of tourism in President Mbeki’s cabinet.