The Presidential Years

An intergovernmental organisation of fifteen Southern African states, established on 17 August 1992, which aims to further socio-economic cooperation and integration of its members. It was a successor to the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), which was established on 1 April 1980 when nine majority-ruled southern African countries signed the Lusaka Declaration ‘Towards Economic Liberation’.