The Presidential Years

Conservative South African political party established in Bloemfontein in 1914 by Afrikaner nationalists. Governing party of South Africa, June 1948 to May 1994. Enforced apartheid, a system of legal racial segregation that favoured minority rule by the white population. Renamed the New National Party in 1997; formed an alliance with the Democratic Party in 2001 and disbanded in 2004.