The Presidential Years

Judge. Appointed chairperson of the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), December 1993. The IEC’s mandate was to deliver South Africa’s first elections based on universal adult suffrage. One of the first to be appointed to the Constitutional Court, 1994. His term ended in 2002. Since retirement, has carried out work on five continents for the United Nations, the African Union, the Commonwealth of Nations and a host of nongovernmental organisations. Currently deputy chairperson of the Board of Section27, a public interest law centre seeking to achieve equality and social justice in South Africa.