The Presidential Years

Established in the 1950s by ANC, South African Indian Congress (SAIC), Congress of Democrats (COD) and the South African Coloured People’s Organisation. When the South Africa Congress of Trade Unions (SACTU) was established in 1955, it became the fifth member. It was instrumental in organising the Congress of the People and mobilising clauses for inclusion in the Freedom Charter. After the ANC and SACP were unbanned it was succeeded by the Tripartite Alliance of ANC, SACP and COSATU, joined later by the South African National Civic Organisation (SANCO).